redplayer0's blog

Remake of pokemon red in python with ascii art

Years ago I messed around with the pokered disassembly to make my own modifications to the game. My goal was to make the game harder for me while also learn some assembly in the process. After finishing my initial "rom hack", I wanted to make more changes. Soon the time I had to spend to implement them in assembly was too much that I let it as it was.

Last week I though that if the game was written in Python, I would need much less time to implement whatever I wanted. Here someone could argue that to remake the whole game in Python will take too long. I agree that it might take long, but I view this as an opportunity to learn and explore gamedev concepts.

While having started my effort to remake the game I also thought of sharing the develpment process. This is my first time writting a blog so this whole process will also help me improve my writting.

Onto the technical stuff. The programming language of choice is obviously Python. The reason is purely the fast development speed and the ability to iterate rapidly (by iterating I mean make changes or trying out new things). For the graphics I have chose the pyxel library, which I believe is incredible. The reason for this and not for example pygame, is the fact that for me what matters most in a game is the gameplay and not much the graphics, so the limited capabilities combined with its robust API will help me focus on gameplay and features instead of graphics and rendering. Speaking of graphics, I will not use sprites for the game and instead do a more ascii art roguelike style approach. In the end the game should look like nethack+pokered on gameboy color.

Check how the game looks like at the moment. The player is "R" and this is pallet town from the game. 2024_04_25

#2d #ascii #gamedev #pokemon #pokered #python #pyxel #roguelike